Kansas City Web design, hosting, Web Development and Network Consultants  
 
888-453-HOST
Web Hosting Kansas, Web Development Kansas, Network Consulting Kansas  
Kansas City web design, web hosting and network consulting services.
 
  0
  0
Kansas City web design, web hosting and network consulting
About Information Solutions Group web and networking
Kansas City web design services
Kansas City web hosting services
Email hosting services
SPAM Blocking and filtering by ISG
Kansas City network consulting services
ISG Certifications
ISG Customer Support
Contact the Information Solutions Group
 
 
 
 

ISG Consulting
it just makes sense.

 

Information
Solutions Group

9770 Legler Rd.
Lenexa, KS 66219
913-310-0522

sales@isgconsulting.com

ISG Policies

 
 
 
 

Reading E-Mail Headers || Support Home

There is usually some confusion about how to read the message "headers" in messages that you don't want. It was suggested that you can blacklist the "sender" of such messages and avoid getting them in the future.

This may or may not be true. In most instances, the sender is forged or fake. So setting your Barracuda preferences to block mail from "cheerful.com" would likely have no effect. Read on to see why.

Reading The Headers

In the message below, the dark red boxes show where the sender wants you to think the message is from.

The light-shaded box shows you where the message is really from.

As you can see for yourself, the message originated from somewhere on Southwest Bell's network (swbell.net). So if you were going to complain, complaining to or blocking "cheerful.com" would be a waste of time, as this message originated from swbell.net, not from cheerful.com.

Now, you might ask yourself, what if "cheerful.com" is some company buying connectivity from swbell.net or some sort of sub-tenant of some ISP that has a DSL line with Southwest Bell?

Using a variety of available network snooping tools, I did a lookup for "cheerful.com" and received the information shown below:

As you can see from the graphic, this tells me that the spam sender just made up a fake domain, or if they had a domain called "cheerful.com" their ISP has already pulled the plug on it due to complaints. If you try to visit www.cheerful.com you will see there is no such place.

Accordingly, in this situation, I contacted "abuse@swbell.net" and told them that someone on their network was sending spam from a forged return address. If you feel you have validly traced a message back to the offending network and need to know who to contact to send your complaint, most of that can be looked up using one of the WHOIS databases that maintain records of each domain and its network administrator. For more information, start with ARIN or RIPE or APNIC and work your way on from there.

 

ISG Home :: About ISG :: Web Hosting :: Reseller Web Hosting :: Network Consulting
Web Design :: E-commerce Web Design
:: Certifications :: Customer Support :: Contact Us
5/9/2008 Copyright © 2002-2004 ISG Consulting, LLC.